Showing posts with label Facebook Application. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Facebook Application. Show all posts

Tuesday, March 27, 2012

Facebook meets enemies


A new app is set to challenge the friendly appearance of users’ Facebook pages. EnemyGraph will allow creating enemy lists, posting them on your profile and even declaring war.
A sign with the "like" symbol stands in front of the Facebook headquarters on February 1, 2012 in Menlo Park, California (Justin Sullivan / Getty Images / AFP)
A sign with the "like" symbol stands in front of the Facebook
headquarters on February 1, 2012 in Menlo Park, California
(Justin Sullivan / Getty Images / AFP)
The initiative was prompted by numerous requests from Facebook users who have been asking for a ‘dislike' button to the website.
Users of EnemyGraph app will be able to become 'Enemies' and ‘Archenemies’ with people, pages, and groups. You can also highlight ‘Social Dissonance’ with your friends. The app will even allow declaring war on any person or company that has a Facebook profile.

The Enemies list will appear on your profile and will be visible to other users of the application.
The creator of the app Dean Terry of the University of Texas at Dallas called the app a 'social media blasphemy' and thought that Facebook would remove the app, The Daily Mail reports.
“We give them a couple of weeks at best before they shut us down,” Terry says.

So far no action has been taken by the administrators and the app is there for anyone interested. Trending enemies now include the Westboro Baptist Church, Twilight Series by Stephenie Meyer, racism, and tomatoes.

Source: RT

Monday, November 29, 2010

Over 60,000 click on scam Facebook app which claims you can see who checked your profile

undefinedOver 60,000 people have been hit in the past few hours on Facebook by a scam which claims that after installing an app called ePrivacy you can see who checked your profile. Needless to say the app does not work. Instead it just lets the scammer access your profile and post “OMG OMG OMG… I cant believe this actually works!” to your wall, with a link to the app, thus spreading it further.
Sophos is reporting that the application does not work and simply allows the makers to steal your private data and virally spread the app amongst your friends.
The best way to check you privacy settings and remove the app is to go to Account -> Privacy Settings -> Applications and Websites.
The scammers are simply playing on peoples desire to see who looks at them on Facebook – which rather makes me wonder why Facebook doesn’t just release an official app for this and keep the scammers out.
Facebook has been informed of the app.